39 Followers
83 Following
jackiebcentraltexas

Housewife Blues and Chihuahua Stories

Lifelong Texan, love reading from many genres thanks to early childhood readalongs with my Dad, love cooking for my family, working in my yard, playing with my cats and since being diagnosed in late 2012 with RRMS finding ways to keep body and mind active is even more important.

Midnight Lies: The Wildefire Series

Midnight Lies: The Wildefire Series - Ella Grace Book InfoMass Market Paperback, 368 pagesExpected publication: September 24th 2013 by Ballantine Booksoriginal title Midnight LiesISBN 0345538390 (ISBN13: 9780345538390)edition language EnglishURLseries Wildefire #2Source:Netgalley EARCBook Buy LinksAMAZONB&NBOOK SYNOPSISThe Wilde sisters of Midnight return in this thrilling novel of romantic suspense, perfect for fans of Maya Banks, Allison Brennan, and Lori Foster.IT’S ALWAYS HOTTER AT MIDNIGHT.The winds of fate have blown cruelly on a family that once had it all: money, power, prestige. The lives of three beautiful daughters were forever changed when, on a sultry night in Midnight, Alabama, a murder-suicide shattered the Wilde family. The girls grew up to live separate lives but now have returned home, each to face a danger no one can see coming.Former homecoming queen Samantha surprised everyone by going into law enforcement, but beneath her tough façade lies a wary heart. The tragedy that struck her family is an ever-present reminder that nothing is ever as it seems. When the man she loves, Quinn Braddock, a doctor and Iraq war veteran, is accused of murder, Samantha assumes the worst. Brokenhearted, her confidence shattered, she returns to Midnight. Though exonerated, Quinn still feels the sting of Samantha’s doubt, but he can’t forget his feelings for her and follows her. Soon after his arrival, a shocking murder terrifies the town, and once again, Quinn is under suspicion. This time, Samantha will not turn her back on the man she loves—even if it means walking into a killer’s trap.My ThoughtsThis was an immediate emotional roller coaster ride, the murder of his ex put ER surgeon on the police's #1 suspect list and no matter how he tried to make them listen the investigating detectives were convinced they had the right man. Sam Wilde is one of very few female police officers in Atlanta but as the lover of the accused she feels she must prove Quinn's innocence of the heinous crime, even though she has her doubts she cannot help but think that the man she has grown to love could not be a cold blooded killer!Fast paced action plus absolutely the best romantic male lead whose smooth sexy talking will melt the coldest heart as it sure did mine and I am a die-hard romantic anyway so it was not hard to make it melt!Quinn and Samantha are truly well thought out and well executed characters as is the push-pull dynamics of their very volatile and combustible relationship and the small town is totally realistically portrayed in all it's charming glory as it sounds both a blessing to live in as well as having the drawback of myriad busybodies who seem to work overtime at the slightest provocation. From sweetly oblivious to her lack of culinary skills Aunt Gibby to elderly Inez who can always be counted on to know the latest gossip to the taciturn Faye who is owner and creator of culinary delights in her restaurant everyone featured as a secondary character truly brings to life the town of Midnight for the reader. I was delighted at how the author managed to incorporate both of Sam's sisters as part of the story as well as sister Savannah's husband Zach who is the chief of police and the two men who helped set up the sisters Wildefire Agency as Brody and Logan played fairly important roles in the story as well.The different plot twists that integrate together and come to a startling conclusion when the true identity of the murderer is revealed was one that kind of got the gist of but was pleasantly surprised that had guessed correctly anyway. As a romantic suspense this thriller delivered in spades with enough dramatic tension offset by the relationship pitfalls that Quinn and Sam had to wade their way through until finally their path to happiness could be smoothed.Wish now would have read book 1 Midnight Secrets but did not feel too out of the loop regardless of not being up to speed with all the back story of the Wilde sisters and the town of Midnight.[EArc from Netgalley in exchange for honest review]